Northern Vermont's primary source of tickets for performing arts and summer festivals.

Skip navigation

VSO: Brubeck for Two

Presented by Vermont Symphony Orchestra

VSO: Brubeck for Two

Flynn MainStage

  • Saturday, September 21, 2019, 7:30 PM

Adults $60/$47/$31/$15.
Students $10.00 in all sections other than the top tier
Includes $1.50 Preservation Fee

For subscriptions, please visit

All concerts begin at 7:30 pm and are preceded at 6:30 pm by Musically Speaking, a free pre-concert discussion that provides entertaining insight into the evening’s program.

Kodály, Chris Brubeck, and Brahms: though separated by time and space, these three composers have all immortalized people and places important to them through the lively pieces that will kick off our 2019/2020 season.

The concert opens with Dances of Galánta, Kodály’s spirited homage to the Hungarian market-town where he spent seven years of his childhood. Next we present the Northeast premiere of Chris Brubeck’s jazzy “Pas de Deux.” Co-commissioned for the indomitable husband-wife team of violinist (and VSO Music Director) Jaime Laredo and cellist Sharon Robinson, this double concerto highlights their “unique musical and personal partnership” as it draws from diverse genres and defies rhythmic convention. The program closes with Brahms’ genial second symphony, steeped in the pastoral surroundings of the lakeside resort where he composed the piece in 1877.

KODALY – Dances of Galanta
(VSO co-commission, Northeast premiere)
BRAHMS – Symphony No. 2

Sarah Hicks, guest conductor
Jaime Laredo, violin
Sharon Robinson, cello

Enter a Promo Code

Please enter an applicable promotional code in the field below to receive discount pricing on this performance.

Advanced Search

Your Cart

You currently have no items in your cart


View Full Calendar

  • 802 86-FLYNN
  • 802-863-5966, V/relay
  • FlynnTix
  • 153 Main Street, Burlington, VT USA 05401
  • Monday-Friday 10am-5pm, Saturday 11am-4pm