Northern Vermont's primary source of tickets for performing arts and summer festivals.

Skip navigation

VSO Masterworks

Presented by Vermont Symphony Orchestra

VSO Masterworks


  • Saturday, October 21, 2017, 7:30 PM

Adults $62/$49/$33/$17.
Students $10.00 in all sections other than the top tier
Includes $1.50 Preservation Fee

For subscriptions, please visit

We open the season with an opera overture from the 25 year-old Mozart. He received the commission for Idomeneo from the Bavarian court, and leapt at the opportunity to leave his sleepy hometown of Salzburg for the big city (and big orchestra) of Munich.
Jinjoo Cho is back! She made her VSO debut in the fall of 2015, and we’re thrilled to have her brilliance and charisma return for two virtuosic pieces for solo violin and orchestra: Poème by Ernest Chausson and Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso by Camille Saint-Saëns.
Czech composer Antonin Dvorák’s New World Symphony, one of the most popular works in the symphonic repertoire, closes the program. Originally titled From the New World, this was his ninth and final symphony, inspired by what Dvorak heard, saw, and experienced during his extended stay in America. The audience at the premiere in Carnegie Hall was so enamored with the piece that the end of each movement was met with thunderous applause.

- …the quiet ending. He wrote this piece to continue seamlessly into the opera, so the Overture ends quietly and rather abruptly.
- …clarinets! Mozart never had clarinets available to him for previous operas and Idomeneo is the first time he could use clarinets in an opera.
- …double-stops! On a bowed string instrument like the violin, double- (or triple- or quadruple-) stops enable the musician to play two or more notes simultaneously. The melancholy Chausson in particular is full of deceptively simple-sounding double-stops – listen closely!
- …African-American and Native American influence. Dvorak soaked in the many cultures living together in America and this symphony is a musical melting pot, beautifully weaving together America’s unique musical and cultural strands.
- …the EPIC English horn solo in the second movement. You’ll probably recognize the gorgeous “going home” melody, which Dvorak’s student William Arms Fisher described as follows:
o “The Largo, with its haunting English horn solo, is the outpouring of Dvorák’s own home-longing, with something of the loneliness of far-off prairie horizons, the faint memory of the [Native Americans’] bygone days, and a sense of the tragedy of the [African American] as it sings in his ‘spirituals.’ Deeper still it is a moving expression of that nostalgia of the soul all human beings feel.”
All concerts begin at 7:30 pm and are preceded at 6:30 pm by Musically Speaking, a free pre-concert discussion that provides entertaining insight into the evening’s program.


MOZART – Overture to Idomeno
CHAUSSON – Poème, for Violin and Orchestra
SAINT-SAËNS – Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso
DVORAK – Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”

Jaime Laredo, conductor
Jinjoo Cho, violin

Jinjoo Cho’s appearance is made possible by the Natalie Lisman Guest Soloist Fund

Enter a Promo Code

Please enter an applicable promotional code in the field below to receive discount pricing on this performance.

Advanced Search

Your Cart

You currently have no items in your cart


View Full Calendar

  • 802 86-FLYNN
  • 802-863-5966, V/relay
  • FlynnTix
  • 153 Main Street, Burlington, VT USA 05401
  • Monday-Friday 10am-5pm, Saturday 11am-4pm